The 2019 Maine Motor Transport Fleet Safety Award information has been released and can be found at https://www.mmta.com/mmta-fleet-safety-awards/.  Once eligibility is satisfied, companies must submit an application by September 6, 2019 in order to be assigned to a mileage category, where statistics will determine whether you place in the top three within that category or qualify for a Wild Card with no recordable crashes.

We will then verify the information for the carriers who will compete for one of the two coveted Grand Champion Awards (over 4 million miles and under 4 million miles) through an additional submission that is due by November 8, 2019.

The entire purpose of this program is to honor the safest motor carrier members and we hope everyone will participate.  For complete rules and eligibility, as well as to download all the necessary forms, please see our website at https://www.mmta.com/mmta-fleet-safety-awards/.

We are also soliciting nominations for the Safety Director of the Year.  This award is presented annually to the motor carrier safety professional whose professional qualifications, safety program, and achievements are deemed most outstanding. The award is sponsored by Great West Casualty Company.  The nominations will be judged by the Fleet Safety Award panel and the individual will be recognized at the MMTA Annual Banquet in January at the Holiday Inn By-The-Bay in Portland.

The nomination application must be completed in its entirety and submitted by November 15.  For rules, eligibility and nomination form, go to https://www.mmta.com/mmta-safety-director-of-the-year/.