

August 6, 2020

Mr. Brian Parke, President & CEO Maine Motor Transport Association, Inc. Via email: bparke@mmta.com

Dear Brian:

As the nation's supply chains face unprecedented challenges related to COVID-19, one of the most critical factors has been the ability to meet customer and public health needs in a reliable and timely manner. While each modal component of the transportation system has been an important player during this time, the trucking industry has been at the very heart of it.

On any day, but certainly over these last several months and continuing, the industry collectively and truck drivers specifically, ensure that critical supplies reach the doors of America's businesses, homes, and medical facilities. The drivers have accomplished this not only with great diligence and dedication, but often with great personal sacrifice.

The undersigned, as the Executives of our respective state agencies and comprising the Board of the Eastern Transportation Coalition, give recognition and thanks for the outstanding professionalism and commitment of the trucking industry and its hard-working and dedicated individuals during this time. The Coalition, a partnership of State Departments of Transportation and related agencies, acknowledge and appreciate the role that the truck drivers and the trucking industry play every day in the well-being of our states' and the national economy. With trucks carrying a significant portion of the 6.5 billion tons of freight moving in our corridor annually, this event has shown an even greater emphasis and importance to that role.

As we move ahead on the road to recovery from COVID-19, please extend our sincere gratitude to your industry members – the companies and the dedicated drivers. As our individual states and as the Eastern Transportation Coalition collectively, we will reach out to you and your members to discuss how to further support the critical role the trucking industry plays in moving goods in this corridor and throughout the nation.

Sincerely,

Patricia Hendren, Executive Director, TETCoalition
Jennifer Cohan, Secretary, Delaware DOT
Russell McMurry, Commissioner, Georgia DOT
Gregory Slater, Secretary, Maryland DOT
Kevin Thibault, Secretary, Florida DOT
Bruce Van Note, Commissioner, Maine DOT
John R. Cooper, Director, Alabama DOT
Joseph Giulietti, Commissioner, Connecticut DOT
Stephanie Pollack, Secretary, Massachusetts DOT

Diane Scaccetti, Commissioner, New Jersey DOT Marie Therese Dominguez, Comm, NY State DOT Eric Boyette, Secretary, North Carolina DOT Yassmin Gramian, Secretary, Pennsylvania DOT Christy Hall, Secretary, South Carolina DOT Clay Bright, Commissioner, Tennessee DOT Joe Flynn, Secretary, Vermont AOT Stephen Brich, Commissioner, Virginia DOT Shannon Valentine, Secretary, Virginia DOT



Motor Carrier Appreciation Letter – Signatures

The Eastern Transportation Coalition (195CC) Executive Director & Executive Board

Patricia Hendren Executive Director, TETC/I95CC

Gregory Slater (TETC Vice Chair) Secretary, Maryland DOT

n R. Cooper Director, Alabama DOT

Diane Scaccetti Commissioner, New Jersey DOT

Yassmin Gramian Secretary, Pennsylvania DOT

Joe Flynn Secretary, Vermont AOT Jennifer Cohan (TETC Chair) Secretary, Delaware DOT

Kevin Thibault (TETC Vice Chair) Secretary, Florida DOT

Joseph Giulietti

Commissioner, Connecticut DOT

Marie Therese Dominguez

Commissioner, New York State DOT

Secretary, South Carolina DOT

Commissioner, Virginia DOT

Stephanie Pollack

Eric Boyette Secretary, North Carolina DOT

Secretary, Massachusetts DOT

Surell a Mª Marry Russell McMurry (TETC Vice Chair)

Commissioner, Georgia DOT

Bruce Van Note (TETC Vice Chair)

Commissioner, Maine DOT

Clay Bright

Commissioner, Tennessee DOT

Shannon Valentine

Secretary, Virginia DOT